Rod T. Faulkner
1 min readFeb 25, 2022

The old woman's "supposition" was racist. First, why did she assume I worked at the grocery store? Especially, since she doesn't know me and I don't know her. I was sitting waiting for the bus just the same as her. Second, I'm African American and don't need anyone - especially another stranger such as yourself - to tell me how serious racism is. I LIVE it being a citizen of this country. Third, nowhere in my essay did I denigrate a particular type of job. What I did do was call out a racist person who made an assumption based on my skin color. And what you call "slight amount of stereotyping" has gotten Black people in dire predicaments , including loss of Black life. And who are YOU who so arrogantly labels someone else's lived experience as "ridiculous?" Finally, that elder didn't respect me and my privacy. Respect goes both ways. Her racism disqualifies her to get any respect from me. So, you can take your smug, arrogant condescension and gaslighting, and troll elsewhere.

Rod T. Faulkner

Proud Blerd. I write about sci-fi, fantasy, and other areas of interest. Founder of EYE ON SCI-FI Podcast. https://bio.site/eyeonscifi Chocolate lover.